Louisiana Division
New Orleans Public Library

Changes in the Names of Public Schools in New Orleans

  • McDonogh 36 to Mahalia Jackson
  • Jeff Davis to Ernest Morial
  • Beauregard to Thurgood Marshall
  • Marie C. Couvent to A.P. Tureaud
  • Robt. E. Lee to Dr. Ronald McNair
  • McDonogh 31 to Morris F.X. Jeff
  • J.P. Benjamin to Mary McLeod Bethune
  • McDonogh 38 to Myrtle R. Banks
  • McDonogh 19 to Louis Armstrong
  • Peters Middle to Israel Augustine Middle
  • Gayarre to Oretha Castle Haley
  • E.D. White to Langston Hughes
  • Phillips Elementary to Vorice Jackson Waters
  • Claiborne Magnet to Parkview Magnet
  • Palmer to Lorraine Hansberry
  • F.T. Nicholls to Frederick Douglass
  • Meyer to Harriet Tubman
  • Danneel Pre-Vocational to Arthur Ashe
  • McDonogh #40 to Barbara Jordan
  • George Washington to Dr. Charles Drew

Back to Fact Finder

Back to Nutrias Home

Updated, 10/28/97